The hilarious things the children I teach have said.

For the love of…

Today, we had a drill for a fire evacuation and a lockdown. A lockdown is when we stay indoors and under desks due to a threat outside. This was the first time I had done the drill with my class. We had a big talk about it being a practice and not to worry about a thing. I explained the expectations and rules for a lockdown too. Once the children were nestled under their desks, I hear,

“Is this a real lockdown?”

I answered, ‘No, remember it’s just pretend.’ A few seconds later, 

“Is a practice?”

Again, I reminded them, “Yes, it’s just a practice, it’s not real and there’s nothing to worry about.” I then heard from under a desk somewhere, 

“Is this a proper lockdown?”

Before I could answer, I heard, very loudly,  

“FOR THE LOVE OF…! DON’T YOU PEOPLE LISTEN? GOSH, STOP ASKING THE SAME QUESTION! IT’S A DRILL, A PRACTICE, A REHEARSAL! THAT MEANS IT IS NOT, N-O-T REAL!!!!!!!!!!!”

I still don’t know who yelled it because I was also in my lockdown area, sitting on the floor under the windows of the classroom doors. I did giggle in a serious situation, though! 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

woman widow friend

Navigating death in our age of distraction

meandmyThermie

just an ordinary mum, who aside from a good cappuccino, loves cooking all things healthily and gluten free in her Thermomix

